The Great Stavros of Forno Family Traditional Bakery

Published by

on

I remember this morning very clearly. I kept walking past this bakery in the tiny harbour village of Agia Efimia in Kefalonia, Greece. There was a lady who was serving at the front which I presumed was his wife, however I never got to the bottom of that matter. One for next time! I was really in the mood for a pain au chocolat, which in fact I’m in the mood for most mornings. Stavros came out at the point of payment and saw me and my mum in his shop. He took a look at my camera and ushered us into his workshop at the back. He couldn’t speak English but was eager to show us around. I then actioned to take a photo and immediately he took this pose. Clearly a great baker and a natural model. I really love how proud he was of his world he and his wife have created and he showed it in the way he stood. And of course the pain au chocolat was bloody glorious. I wish I had a photo of them both too but she was a little camera shy. You can’t have it all!

Leave a comment

Previous Post
Next Post